Firearms Stored in Cars & Campus Concealed Carry Bills Need Your Support

Firearms Stored in Cars & Campus Concealed Carry Bills Need Your Support
HB 681~Still in Calendars
SB 354~Needs Attention in the Senate

Texas State Rifle Association
Texas State Rifle Association

Houston, Tx –-(Ammoland.com)- The Concern With House Calendar's Committee

With two months left in session, it may sound like the Texas Legislature has plenty of time to consider and act on legislation of importance to gun owners and sportsmen. In actuality, the deadline for the House to consider House bills is May 12, less than a month and a half away. Time last week was taken up with action on the voter i.d. bill. Debate on the budget is expected to last over three days this week. And the House will be considering redistricting plans and major state agency sunset legislation in the coming weeks.

In 2009, TSRA-backed legislation that would have allowed employees to transport and store firearms in their locked, private motor vehicles while parked at work, died on the House Calendar in the waning days of session when Democrats filibustered the voter i.d. bill and Republicans failed to take procedural action to end an entire week of stalling. This session, the Senate passed SB 321 by Sen. Glenn Hegar (R-Katy), that chamber's version of the parking lot bill, in mid-March. There are no excuses for the House not acting on this issue this session!

HB 681, the House version of the employee/parking lot bill sponsored by Rep. Tim Kleinschmidt (R-Lexington), has been reported out of the House Business & Industry Committee and is currently pending before the House Calendars Committee – the body which decides if and when a bill is scheduled for a vote by the full House of Representatives. It will soon be joined by HB 750, Rep. Joe Driver's (R-Garland) bill to allow Texas CHLs – individuals who are 21 or older, have passed a state and federal criminal records check, completed a handgun training course and been issued a licensed to carry by the Department of Public Safety – to protect themselves on the campuses of public colleges and universities. That bill was recently reported out of the House Committee on Homeland Security & Public Safety and is on its way to the Calendars Committee.

Please contact the House Speaker and the following members of the Calendars Committee – politely urge them to set HB 681, the TSRA-backed employee parking lot bill, and HB 750, the TSRA-supported campus carry measure, on the House Calendar as soon as possible!

House Speaker Joe Straus
512-463-1000
To send an email, click on this link: Email Speaker Straus

House Calendars Committee Members

  • Todd Hunter, Chairman
    512-463-0672
    todd.hunter@house.state.tx.us
  • Dennis Bonnen, Vice-Chairman
    512-463-0564
    dennis.bonnen@house.state.tx.us
  • Dan Branch
    512-463-0367
    dan.branch@house.state.tx.us
  • Byron Cook
    512-463-0730
    byron.cook@house.state.tx.us
  • Charlie Geren
    512-463-0610
    charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us
  • Jim Keffer
    512-463-0656
    jim.keffer@house.state.tx.us
  • Tracy King
    512-463-0194
    tracy.king@house.state.tx.us
  • Lois Kolkhorst
    512-463-0600
    lois.kolkhorst@house.state.tx.us
  • Eddie Lucio III
    512-463-0606
    eddie.lucio@house.state.tx.us
  • Allan Ritter
    512-463-0706
    allan.ritter@house.state.tx.us
  • Burt Solomons
    512-463-0478
    burt.solomons@house.state.tx.us
  • Vicki Truitt
    512-463-0690
    vicki.truitt@house.state.tx.us
  • John Zerwas
    512-463-0657
    john.zerwas@house.state.tx.us
    Conceal Carry on Campus in the Texas Senate

Please Help Push Concealed Carry on Campus in the Texas Senate
On Thursday, the Senate Committee on Criminal Justice voted out SB 354 by Sen. Jeff Wentworth, the campus carry companion bill to HB 750. A two-thirds vote of Senators present and voting (21 if they are all there) will be necessary to “suspend the regular order of business” and bring SB 354 up for consideration on the Senate floor in the coming weeks.

Please contact your State Senator and urge him or her to support SB 354 by voting to “suspend the regular order of business” so that the measure can be debated and voted on by the full Senate, and to oppose any gutting amendments to the bill – including any attempt to allow taxpayer-funded public colleges and universities to opt-out of its provisions!

  • SD 1 Sen. Kevin Eltife – Tyler
    512-463-0101
    kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 2 Sen. Bob Deuell – Greenville
    512-463-0102
    bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 3 Sen. Robert Nichols – Jacksonville
    512-463-0103
    robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 4 Sen. Tommy Williams – The Woodlands
    512-463-0104
    tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 5 Sen. Steve Ogden – Bryan/College Station
    512-463-0105
    steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 6 Sen. Mario Gallegos – Galena Park/Houston
    512-463-0106
    mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 7 Sen. Dan Patrick – Houston
    512-463-0107
    dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 8 Sen. Florence Shapiro – Plano
    512-463-0108
    florence.shapiro@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 9 Sen. Chris Harris – Arlington
    512-463-0109
    chris.harris@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 10 Sen. Wendy Davis – Fort Worth
    512-463-0110
    wendy.davis@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 11 Sen. Mike Jackson – Pasadena
    512-463-0111
    mike.jackson@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 12 Sen. Jane Nelson – Flower Mound
    512-463-0112
    jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 14 Sen. Kirk Watson – Austin
    512-463-0114
    kirk.watson@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 15 Sen. John Whitmire – Houston
    512-463-0115
    john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 16 Sen. John Carona – Dallas
    512-463-0116
    john.carona@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 17 Sen. Joan Huffman – Houston/Lake Jackson
    512-463-0117
    joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 18 Sen. Glenn Hegar – Katy
    512-463-0118
    glenn.hegar@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 19 Sen. Carlos Uresti – San Antonio
    512-463-0119
    carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 20 Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa – McAllen
    512-463-0120
    juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 22 Sen. Brian Birdwell – Waco/Granbury
    512-463-0122
    brian.birdwell@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 24 Sen. Troy Fraser – Horseshoe Bay
    512-463-0124
    troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 26 Sen. Leticia Van de Putte – San Antonio
    512-463-0126
    leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 27 Sen. Eddie Lucio – Brownsville
    512-463-0127
    eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 28 Sen. Robert Duncan – Lubbock
    512-463-0128
    robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 29 Sen. Jose Rodriguez – El Paso
    512-463-0129
    jose.rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 30 Sen. Craig Estes – Wichita Falls
    512-463-0130
    craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us
  • SD 31 Sen. Kel Seliger – Amarillo
    512-463-0131
    kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us

TSRA may be the NRA state affiliate but our money and our members are from Texas. I'm the point person but TSRA members make up the power. Join, renew, or upgrade your membership to the Texas State Rifle Association today.

Keep the faith,

Sincerely,
Alice Tripp
Texas State Rifle Association

About:
The Mission of the Texas State Rifle Association is to protect and defend the inalienable rights of the individual Texan to acquire, possess, transport, carry, transfer ownership and enjoy the right to lawful use of firearms for self preservation, for the defense of family and property and the common defense of the Republic and the individual liberties of the people. Visit: www.TSRA.com

The post Firearms Stored in Cars & Campus Concealed Carry Bills Need Your Support appeared first on AmmoLand.com.