2012 Industry Awards Announced By National Association Of Sporting Goods Wholesalers

New Awards of Excellence and Innovation Award Announced.

National Association of Sporting Goods Wholesalers

Orlando, Florida –-(Ammoland.com)- Over 450 members met last night to kick off the 2012 39th Annual Meeting and Expo of the National Association of Sporting Goods Wholesalers (NASGW) held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

Jack Baumler, NASGW Chairman, welcomed the members and set the stage for three days of productive meetings as distributors, manufacturers, manufacturer’s reps and media prepare for the coming sales year.

Each year at this event, NASGW Awards the top optics, accessory, ammunition and firearms manufacturers who best demonstrate a commitment to two-step distribution and who provide outstanding value and service. Wholesaler members evaluate the performance of this manufacturer on four key criteria; distribution policy, marketing, sales and promotion; logistics and operations and NASGW and industry support. This comprehensive assessment of manufacturer performance has been designed to provide a more balanced appraisal that truly recognizes the best of the best according to NASGW distributor members.

This year’s Leadership Award recipients are:

  • 2012 Optics Manufacturer of the Year: Leupold & Stevens, Inc.
  • 2012 Accessories Manufacturer of the Year: Birchwood Casey
  • 2012 Ammunition Manufacturer of the Year: Hornady Manufacturing
  • 2012 Firearms Manufacturer of the Year: Sturm, Ruger and Company, Inc.

In addition to the Industry Awards, the NASGW also presents the Chairman’s Award for Industry Leadership. This special honor recognizes an individual, company or organization for their distinguished

service to the shooting sports industry. The 2012 Chairman’s Award for Industry Leadership was presented to Olympian Kim Rhode, the first US athlete competing in an individual sport to win medals in five consecutive Olympics.


A new category of awards was also announced during this year’s leadership program. Winners in this new category include:

  • Nikon Inc., Excellence in Optics
  • Crimson Trace Corporation: Excellence in Accessory Manufacturing
  • Winchester Ammunition: Excellence in Ammunition Manufacturing
  • Glock Inc.: Excellence in Firearms Manufacturing

“These companies represent quality products and services to our members for many years and have been strong supporters of wholesaler distribution,” said Baumler.

2012 Innovator of the Year Announced
Another new category this year recognizes and individual or company that has developed a unique product, service or strategy that excels above the competition.

  • This award went to: O.F. Mossberg and Sons Inc.

For more information about the annual NASGW Industry and Chairman’s Awards, contact:

Maurice Desmarais, President, 630-596-9006.
National Association of Sporting Goods Wholesalers
1833 Centre Point Circle, Suite 123, Naperville, IL 60563
or visit the association’s website at wwww.nasgw.org